IBTN Investigator Award Winners 2022

The IBTN is thrilled to announce and showcase the winners of the inaugural IBTN Investigator Awards. All three awardees were announced during the opening ceremonies of the IBTN 2022 Hybrid Conference on Thursday, May 19, 2022, on the UQAM campus in its Sherbrooke pavilion. Ceremonies were hosted by IBTN Co-Leads Drs. Kim Lavoie and Simon Bacon.

Candidates for these three awards were peer- or self-nominated between December 2021 and February 2022. An independent adjudication committee reviewed nominations. The awards were designed to celebrate the work of researchers having made significant contributions to the field of behavioural trials interventions. The Career Investigator Award aimed to recognize the work of an established researcher (whose PhD was conferred more than 10 years ago), the New Investigator Award aimed to recognize the work of a new researcher (whose PhD was conferred within the last 10 years) and the LMIC Investigator Award aimed to recognize the work of a researcher based in a lower- or middle-income country (LMIC).

Susan Michie, PhD (UK)

Career Investigator Award

Susan Michie, PhD, was awarded the inaugural Career Investigator Award. Her projects include the Human Behaviour-Change Project and Complex Systems for Sustainability and Health. She is the author of Behaviour Change Wheel: A Guide to Designing Interventions and has served as an expert advisor on several national and international scientific and pandemic insights groups including the WHO’s Behavioural Insights and Sciences Technical Advisory Group.

Dr. Michie’s presentation, The Behaviour Change Intervention Ontology: Next steps, offered attendees an overview on the project’s aim to develop an understanding of human behaviour to answer various facets of the “Big Question” that is: when it comes to behaviour change interventions, what works, compared with what, for what behaviours, how well, for how long, with whom, in what setting, and why? Request access to this presentation

Jenny Mc Sharry, PhD (Ireland)

New Investigator Award

Jenny Mc Sharry, PhD, was awarded the inaugural New Investigator Award. She is the Assistant Director of the Health Behaviour Change Research Group (HBCRG), an international centre of excellence in health behaviour change research methods and training, and also leads a programme of research that takes a systematic approach to behaviour change to address healthcare challenges.Dr. Mc Sharry’s presentation, The What and the How: Developing implementable interventions at the HBCRG, offered attendees an overview of the HBCRG’s international, Delphi consensus study to identify and achieve consensus on priorities for methodological research in behavioural trials. Request access to this presentation

Jeemon Panniyammakal, PhD (India)

LMIC Investigator Award


Jeemon Panniyammakal, PhD, was awarded the inaugural LMIC Investigator Award. Dr. Jeemon is based in India and his current focus is on heart failure and multi-morbidity. He is currently involved in major implementation and scale-up research in hypertension and diabetes control in India, primary care research in management of multimorbidity, and collaborative care models in management of heart failure in Indian settings.Dr. Panniyammakal’s presentation, Family-based Cardiovascular Risk Reduction: Findings from the PROLIFIC Study, offered attendees an overview of the study’s aim to test the acceptability, effectiveness and sustainability of a care model for managing cardiovascular risk in families. Dr. Panniyammakal’s presentation included unpublished findings that cannot be widely shared at this time.

The IBTN wishes to congratulate all three award recipients and recognizes and celebrates the outstanding contributions of these talented researchers to the field of behavioural medicine and behavioural trials.

The IBTN looks forward to honouring other award winners in forthcoming competitions. Nominations for the 2024 awards will open in fall 2023.